The Naked Pagan Story

I’ve told you a bit about my naturist tendencies, and a bit about my vegan journey.  I think it’s time to tell you about my being Pagan.  Just a little.

I won’t go into all the gory details, but I used to be a Christian minister.  During the nearly twenty years of that, I will say that I saw little of the love of Christ and a lot of the power mongering and hatefulness of the institution.  When you’re on the inside, it ain’t pretty!

So, when our little church had to close due to lack of funds, I decided to retire from that vocation.  About the same time, I heard a podcast on the Naturist Living Show on the history of nakedness.  The interview was with a man named Philip Carr-Gomm, who happens to be the chosen chief of a group known as The Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids.

My wife and I looked into OBOD, and on Christmas day, (how fitting, right?), we joined the order and began studying the Bardic course.

Now you may wonder why I chose to follow the Pagan path coming from Christianity.

I will say that I have no problem with the teaching of Christ.  What I have a problem with is the way the church has perverted that teaching for its own benefit.  I don’t think it is any different than the institutional church that Jesus preached against.

When I thought back to my childhood, and after, I realized that I felt closest to the Divine while in nature, not in church.  When I link my naturism and now veganism to the Pagan way of caring for the earth and learning to live in harmony with nature, it seems the perfect fit.

Do I think all Pagans are wonderful people?  Well, I don’t know all of them, but I highly doubt it.  There are assholes in every group.  They were certainly in the church and they are in Paganism as well.

Do I dance naked around a fire?  I’d love too, but I think my neighbors would object.  No fence around the back yard.  Maybe if I invited them….

Well, I’m sure that you really don’t give a rip, so I’ll end this.  I’ll talk more about my journey into Paganism in future posts, but to give you the whole history right now would be tiring for both of us.

Drop a comment and tell me what a hell bound sinner I am or how you agree, either way.

VNP

This entry was posted in Pagan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

