Funny As A Heart Attack

I am writing this as I sit in my hospital bed recovering from a heart attack.  There is no doubt in my mind that I should have started my vegan diet a long time ago.  My cardiologist says that it’s a great idea, just twenty years behind when I should have started.

I hate when people preach to you about things.  I hate it with religion most, but just about anything preached at me is just wrong.  I have no problem with you having your opinion.  I want to hear what you have to say.  It might even change the way I think about things.  Just don’t tell me I’m an idiot if I don’t believe or think the way you do.

Having said that, might I suggest to you most strongly, that you consider a vegan diet!

I don’t care what you think about animal rights or any of that.  All I want is for you to avoid going through what I did two days ago.  We aren’t meant to eat all that animal stuff.  It gives us way too much of the bad things in life like cholesterol.

Speaking of animal rights, I would have gladly killed that frickin’ elephant that was slowly pushing a railroad spike through my chest while the heat attack was going on.  Believe me, you do not want to go through that.  It just ain’t fun.

Go vegan!

Eat as healthy as you can.  You may think that you are giving up all that good grilled whateveritis, but believe me, I have had more delicious food since going vegan than ever.

Exercise.  Stop watching that stupid fucking idiot box and go for a walk.

Although I just had a heart attack, I thank the God and Goddess that I have been exercising and had at least begun eating right.  My heart attack could have been so much worse.  My cardiologist says that there is no damage to my heart and I should make a full recovery.  If I had just done it years ago I could have avoided it altogether.

Okay, so let me ease down off my soap box before I fall off and break my leg as well.

VNP

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Funny As A Heart Attack

  1. Best wishes for a speedy recovery. I went vegan, (after about 16 years of being an ovo/lacto/pesco vegetarian of one ilk or another), about 2 years ago. I went vegetarian for my health, thinking I could counteract 2+ packs of cigarettes a day with diet. (You can’t). I am now vegan for the animals. I don’t think you can be vegan for very long before you realize how we treat animals, watch a few videos, and wonder what has become of the human race’s compassion and kindness.
    Health is a good reason to start although we find people “cheat” when they get to where they want to be. When you change and realize that eating any animal products causes cruelty, pain and suffering, (you actually become a vegan), you tend not to “cheat” at all.
    I’ll be curious to see if you make that change to a vegan lifestyle as well but for now, congrats on making the shift to a plant based diet.

    Marty
    Marty’s Flying Vegan Review
    http://www.martysflyingveganreview.com
    @veganpilotmarty

    • VNP says:

      Hey Marty! Thanks for the comment. I do intend to stick with this. I’ll tell you that having a heart attack is quite a motivator, at least for me. I believe in animal rights and all that, but the pain I most want to avoid is my own! That hurt like hell!!!

      VNP

  2. Gil says:

    I will heed your words , I am 58 ….. snsh

    • VNP says:

      Do! I wish I had listened 30 years ago. Just in case you are wondering, having a heart attack is no fun! Do whatever you can to avoid it.

  3. Troy Quizon says:

    Heart attack is one of the leading cause of death in US. we should always find ways to manage this disease.*

    Newest short article on our personal webpage
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/foods-high-in-vitamin-k/

Leave a Reply

