Vegan Tuna Salad

I made vegan tuna salad and it was awful!  Well, not awful, my wife liked it and so did everyone else who tried it.  I was the only one who didn’t really like it and it was more a consistency thing for me.

I followed a recipe, well two of them and sort of bastardized each of them.  What it turned out to be was a green paste with celery and onions in it that tasted somewhat like fish.  That was the seaweed.

Here’s what I did.

I took two cans of garbanzo beans, rinsed them and drained them and then stuck them in the food processor.  Now here’s the thing.  You pulse the processor, or you mash them by hand.  You don’t turn it on and then go chop an onion.  What happens is that the garbanzos turned to mush.

I don’t know about you but when I ate tuna, it was never mush.  It had some texture to it.

Well, I added the nori (that’s seaweed) and processed it some more.  Smoother mush.  I then scraped that into a bowl and added the celery and onions.  I’ve seen baby food that was lumpier than that!

Of course it made enough to feed a small army!

That night, it was all I could do to swallow it down.  My wife raved about it and I thought I was gonna puke!  The next day, my wife took it to work for lunch in a wrap.  I tasted it again and thought I would hurl!

A Couple of days later I tried it and it wasn’t so bad.  The consistency was still the same, but now the taste of the nori mellowed a little, (did I mention I put in twice the amount I should have?), and it damned near tasted like tuna salad.

Here’s the trick

Don’t turn the garbanzos to mush.  Don’t put in too much seaweed.  If you follow those two simple directions, you will have something that is pretty good.

Let me know if you have a good tuna salad recipe!

VNP

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Tuna Salad

  1. Lisa says:

    I haven’t tried making a vegan tuna salad with garbanzo beans. I’ve tried it using tofu (with seaweed for flavoring). The taste was okay, but I hated the texture. I may have to try it your way, but just mash everything up with a fork. It’s amazing how texture can make such a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

