Raw Beet Balls!

I have been wanting spaghetti for some time now.  One of the problems with being a vegan is that I miss meatballs on my spaghetti!  I subscribe to “Vegnews,” and ran across a recipe for a vegan solution.

Raw beet balls!

The first thing I want to say about these little devils is that they are a little labor intensive.  The second thing is that, like anything made with beets, they tend to turn your kitchen and you into something that looks like a scene from a CSI episode.  Beet juice was everywhere.

Good thing I cook naked and can easily wash-up!

Okay, first things first.  You have to grate a half cup of raw beets.  Set that aside for later.  Now, chop a cup and a half of portabello mushrooms.  Both the beets and the mushrooms are much easier done in a food processor, but you have to wash it out after each thing.

Once you have the mushrooms chopped, you marinate them in a mixture of 2T of tamari, 2T of apple cider vinegar, and 1T of maple syrup.

The shrooms have to sit in this goop for a couple of hours.  Go out and do some naked gardening or walk barefoot on the earth and feel the divine beneath your feet.  I know, too much, but I got some naked stuff in there!

Once you have marinated the shrooms for two hours, put 1 cup of sunflower seed in the processor and turn them to dust.  Drain the shrooms and dump them in the dust.  Put in 1 clove of garlic, 1t of dried oregano, 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, and another 2/3 cup of sunflower seeds.  Throw in a pinch of salt and process the hell out of that mess.

Once you’ve got that done, put that mess in the fridge for an hour.

Make your sghetti and heat up some marinara sauce or regular spaghetti sauce.  When that’s ready, take the beet mess out of the fridge and form it into balls.  Put that on the spaghetti noodles and then cover the whole things with sauce.

The beet balls hang together well while they are cold, but once they start to warm up, they fall apart easily.  I think I might have put a little chia seed in to help them hang together better.  Oh well, next time.

They tasted pretty good.  My wife loved them, I liked them.  They certainly weren’t like good old sausage meatballs, but then they won’t give you a massive coronary either, and that’s my goal, not to do that again!

If you have a recipe for non-meat meatballs, let me know!

VNP

P.S. This recipe is not mine, but from Vegnews October Issue page 78.

This entry was posted in Vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raw Beet Balls!

  1. I read about this recipe before! It’s so mean that they don’t sell VegNews where I live 😉 I’d love to make that.

  2. You can try these superyumful balls too, from What The Hell Does A Vegan Eat Anyway?
    http://veganmenu.blogspot.com/2009/02/raw-food-wednesday-spaghetti-and.html
    Happy Nude Recreation Week!

Leave a Reply

