How To Get Your Priorities Straight

Phew! It’s been a while since I posted.  My wife and I went to the East Coast Gathering of OBOD in Milford Pennsylvania.  OBOD stands for “The Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids.”  It is an organization, based in England, for the study of Druidry and a place for those like minded individuals to connect with one another.  While there, I had some thoughts about what is really important in my life.  I’ve spent the last week thinking about that.

How to get your priorities straight.

One of the first things was what I was feeling spiritually.  I’ve written before about my leaving the Christian church, but not necessarily the teachings of Christ.  What was harder for me was how I felt about certain aspects of the Pagan spiritual path.

While at the gathering, I met people form all sorts of paths.  People who were polytheists, people who were monotheists, people who were atheists.  In Druidry, there is a tolerance for differing beliefs.  Each person walks the path they feel called to walk.  Some stay on that path and some find themselves walking a very different way than what they started.

I realized that I was letting all the teaching I received in my former life, all the teaching I have received recently, and all the teaching I have only had a casual brush with get in the way of the calling of Spirit within me.  Some of that teaching was helpful, some was not.

The second thing I had to deal with was my feelings about nudism/naturism.  I tend to be a one track sort of guy.  It is easy for me to get on one band wagon and ride it until I drive everyone around me, and myself, crazy.  I was getting that way with nudism.

It’s easy for me to do in the summer time!  We visit our club a couple of times a month and with the weather warm, I want to be nude all the time.  I was getting a bit obsessed with it.  It was all I thought about or wanted to talk about.

The gathering was NOT a clothing optional event.  Now it’s true that some Pagans are no strangers to nudism.  For some it can be a part of ritual.  The camp we were at was not a clothing optional camp and it was understood that there would be NO dancing around the fire naked!

This gave me a chance to back away a bit and think about what is important to me.  Surely naturism is important, but is it the only thing?

Herein lies the method for setting priorities.

Take some time to step back from your everyday world, and think about the things that are important to you.  Just how important are they really!  If you had to stop doing something, would it be the end of the world?  Now it might be for you.  If that is the case, then you know  that it is a top priority.  If not, then how much does this thing that you now understand to be not so important rule your life?

I know it’s hard to take the time to do this, but it is an important thing to do.  Our priorities change as life goes on.  We need to step back now and then to go over what rules our lives.  Is it important?  Is it something I want to continue?

For me, my spiritual life is more important.  Is nudism a part of that?  For me it is, but it is only a part.  Is being a vegan important to me?  It might mean I get to live a few more years, so yes, it’s important!  Will these same things be priorities in five years?  I guess I’ll have to step back and think about it then!

VNP

This entry was posted in Naturist/Nudist, Pagan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

