The Wheel Of The Year Must Turn And Winter Must Come.

The cold wind blows outside and it has been raining for the last week.  The temps are low and it isn’t a good time for naturist activities, even in the house it seems cold.  I cherish my time in nature and especially my naturist time in the elements.  It is depressing to have that come to and end, but it is inevitable!

The wheel of the year must turn and winter must come.

Part of being a Pagan is celebrating the wheel of the year.  As the year progresses, we celebrate new life, ripening of life, the harvest, and the cold time.  We see that each time is necessary.  Without the winter, death, new life cannot come.

I am already planning what I will do next summer.  There is a naturist gathering at our club that gives us the opportunity to join in naturist activity for a week.  Without the coming winter, that will not take place.

The is a Druid gathering next fall that we plan to go to.  Should the wheel stop turning and life cease, that will not happen.  The wheel must turn and the winter must come so that it can then be spring and summer.

Yesterday, I was helping to insulate and sheet the outside of a wall.  My knee was hurting going up and down the ladder and one of the other guys helping mentioned that getting old was no fun.  I agreed it isn’t.  However, if we don’t grow old, this life will not end.  If this one does not end, the next life cannot begin.  I believe in reincarnation and if I do not die, I cannot be reborn.  Do I want to die, to suffer the aches and pain of age?  No, but it is part of the process.

In some ancient cultures they saw the winter time as a time of rest, a time of regrouping, a time of getting ready.

That’s how I choose to look at it.  The winter is a time to plan where, in the summer, I can run naked and free.  It is a time to think about the next life and what that might bring.

Listening to the howling wind and seeing the naked trees devoid of their beautiful leaves, I am saddened that it is not summer.  I am also hopeful of the coming spring and warming sun.

How do you see your winter?

VNP

This entry was posted in Naturist/Nudist, Pagan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

