Why Can’t Everyone Be Down With Nudity?

For anyone living in the north-eastern part of the country, you know it has been warm, but mostly rainy and humid.  Yesterday was the 4th of July and it was in the mid eighties and about ninety percent humidity.  We had guests, our family, and they aren’t nudists.

Why can’t everyone be down with nudity?

I sat there for a good part of the day in shorts and t-shirt.  I was sweating and uncomfortable.  I suppose that to someone not a nudist, would just think it was hot.  Not me!

I was thinking, “Why can’t I just get naked and everyone would be fine with it?”

It seems so silly to me.  Everyone knows what bits are under those clothes.  Whenever I ask friends why they wouldn’t go with us to our local nudist park, the answers always float around the fact that they don’t have the perfect body.  So the hell what?

Perhaps full time athletes have something resembling a perfect body, but for the rest of us mortals, we have roles, dimples, sags, and maybe even deformities.  Nudists/naturists understand that these things don’t matter.  Go to any nudist club and you will see all those things in abundance.  You learn to accept people for who they are, not what they are.

Last week we were at our club and a woman was sitting on the steps of the pool talking to people.  After a while, it was time for her and her husband to go.  He helped her to stand, which seemed to be something of an ordeal, dried her off, yes most all of her bits, and then helped her into her wheel chair. My only thought was extreme pride in her for being so bold to not care about her problems, her handicap, and being nude.  Many clothed people wouldn’t have had the nerve to do it in a bathing suit!

Anyway, I digress.  So would it have warped my family to see me naked?  No, I don’t think so.  Would they have been shocked for a minute or two?  Yeah, probably.  I know I would have been a damn sight more comfortable!

VNP

This entry was posted in Naturist/Nudist and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Why Can’t Everyone Be Down With Nudity?

  1. sassycoupleok says:

    We know that the sight of a human being simply nude is not going to hurt anyone. Society has brought about those fears. The one that really get’s to us is when parents make a big deal of shielding a child’s eyes from the sight of a nude person. Those young minds are hungry for information, what a wasted opportunity to teach about the physical differences of the adult bodies of men and women. How there can be shame in that is beyond us !!

  2. Reblogged this on home clothes free and commented:
    Great post and question been missing your thoughts

  3. genevieveharvey18 says:

    Reblogged this on Naked Imp and commented:
    I know the feeling. 😦

  4. Pingback: Why Can’t Everyone Be Down With Nudity? | simplenaturist

  5. kjsmithsea says:

    It’s sad to me that society persists in the beliefs that non sexual nudity is somehow deviant behavior.Please recognize opportunities to normalize nudity when presented with the chance.

  6. cwm1955 says:

    Reblogged this on cwm1955's Blog and commented:
    I love Nudity, do You ?

  7. Mike R. says:

    Over the years,I’ve read and heard many detailed and complex arguments both for and against social nudity but I really think this simple and logical post just about covers it. Why not? Really,why the hell not?

  8. Rob Robertson says:

    If it were up to me it would be a clothing-optional world. If it cold, put ’em on; if it’s hot, take ’em off. And especially when swimming I feel it should just be culturally acceptable to swim naked. Why would anyone want to wear something, especially in the ocean, that hinders movement, remains soggy for hours afterwards, and traps sand next to your skin? But then again, I’ve been a nudist for over thirty years and it’s difficult for me to remember what the mindset was like before I stripped down and joined the fun. I’ve spoken to hundreds of nudists over the years who’ve said that, before they got involved with social nudism, they thought that they could NEVER take their clothes off in front of other people. But over time (and here it’s usually the husband talking the wife into giving it a try) the reluctance gives way to curiosity and the near-unanimous response is, “I can’t believe I waited so long!” To me, social nudity is a visceral sense of freedom.

  9. Roxanne says:

    You have just succinctly and fairly eloquently said EXACTLY what I think! I have so much trouble because
    I walk around my house naked. I try to make sure that my neighbors won’t see me, but I also want as much sunlight streaming in as possible. My neighbors have repeatedly complained about my nudity, and told me that (gasp of horror) their young impressionable son has seen me walking around my house naked. He’s the SAME age as my two boys! I rolled my eyes and basically asked them: So….? I can respect their beliefs and would never just strip down in their home, so why can’t they respect MY beliefs and stop complaining about them? If everyone is expected to conform to the same expectations, WHY CAN’T they be mine??? lol!

    • Steve says:

      The sad thing is, your neighbors have the law on their side. Lews or indecent behavior is, unfortunately, in the eye of the beholder. At least if there were clear guidelines. It is too subjective.

    • sassycoupleok says:

      Roxanne, we too enjoy being nude in our home (see our profile) with open blinds. Contrary to Steve’s comment it’s our understanding that what one does in their home is protected by law, even being seen nude. After all they are looking into your home!! Performing a sexual act would take on a different meaning but simple nudity is not a crime. Our neighbors have never complained.

      • Steve says:

        I think it may depend on the state you live in, but I have heard of people being arrested because they were seen from the street. I agree that what you do in your own home should be your business, but not everyone sees it that way. I don’t know if I have ever been seen by my neighbors, but I suspect so and they have never said anything. Again, I believe it depends on your state. I certainly could be wrong, I am not a lawyer! 🙂

      • Steve says:

        Here is the state law in New York.

        § 245.00 Public lewdness. A person is guilty of public lewdness when he intentionally exposes the private or intimate parts of his body in a lewd manner or commits any other lewd act (a) in a public place, or (b) in private premises under circumstances in which he may readily be observed from either a public place or from other private premises, and with intent that he be so observed.

        This seems to say that if I am nude in my home, but can be seen from the street, I can be charged with public lewdness. One thing about New York is that women can be top free in public. I have never witnessed this, but it is their right.

        I got this from the Naturist Action Committee. http://naturistaction.org/StatesFrames/state_laws_and_legislation.html

        You can look up your own state laws. They vary quite a bit.

      • Roxanne says:

        My husband and I worked at a nudist resort here in MN, so we know that the law in MN is that so long as we are in our own home (or on secluded property), making a reasonable attempt to “conceal” our nudity from the neighbors, we are not breaking any laws. One of the things my neighbor complained about was the time I undid my bra strap so that I could tan my entire back (for about 20 minutes in my backyard which rarely gets sun). No one could see my breasts since I was laying on them, and the officer said straight out that I wasn’t breaking any laws, so my neighbors have had to suffer, lol! I just find it really absurd that here in the land of the free, we aren’t allowed to do so many things because we have to conform to repressive social standards.

    • Cyn says:

      If I were your neighbor I would complain as well! At least have the decency to close the curtains that face your neighbors. They have a right to protect their children from what they feel is inappropriate… Shame on you! You have a right to be naked IN YOUR OWN HOME. You do not and should not have the right to subject others to it.

      • Steve says:

        My neighbors have never complained. I’m sure they might if I just waltzed out into the back yard naked, but “if” they have seen me through my window, they have never complained.

        Second, they do not have children. If there were children involved, I would be more careful. Not because I think there is anything wrong with a child seeing someone nude, but I respect the parents views.

        I’m not sure why I’m being shamed, but I bet you have several good reasons.

      • Roxanne says:

        Cyn, I can understand your opinion (and Steve, she was directing the shaming at me), however I do make and effort to have the blinds turned in a way that lets in the sun without being obvious to my neighbors, but I am sorry, so long as I am in my own home I WILL get as much sunlight as I can, naked or not. I haven’t actually seen my neighbors through their windows, and believe me, I HAVE looked because I wanted to see how they were seeing me. If I can’t see them walking around in their house, then they should not be able to see me. The fact that they have tells me that they looked until they found something, for one, and for two, I am sorry you think that seeing someone else’s nudity is so repugnant that you have to complain about it. Life would be a whole lot happier if you just shrugged and looked the other way 🙂

  10. Pingback: Notes on Nudity | DanielNester.com

Leave a Reply

